30 weeks to 40

It’s been a weird decade two years. Australia started being on fire in August 2019, my Mum passed away that October, and bushfires (and smoke) just kept burning for months and then we rolled right into COVID and lockdowns and heightened stress and everything. After getting into health and fitness and losing 18kg mid last year, I have gained back 12kg, mostly through stress eating chips and chocolate and cheese and not moving through lockdown.

Today is 30 weeks until I turn 40, and it is time to make lasting change. I cleaned up a whiteboard yesterday and wrote up a series of goals for food, fitness, feelings and life. My major goal is to be under 100kg by my birthday, which will take losing about a kilogram each week. This is possible but will require focus and accountability, so I’m using this blog to help me.

I will be using Isagenix for my nutritional support. They have a range of protein shakes and snacks and a lot of pre- during- and post-workout beverages which help with energy, recovery and muscle soreness. I used their system with great success last year – the main thing for results is consistency, amazingly – hence dusting off the blog to keep me accountable. I know I will struggle with food when I’m sad or stressed, and also happy, as I use it as a reward. Having alternatives lined up and keeping my eyes on the prize will be very important, as will positive self talk. I am worth investing in!

Today’s achievements include two isa shakes, playing outside with the minions for over an hour, and getting an HD on my latest assignment (I’m undertaking a Certified Practising HR qualification.)

Leave a comment